.CL’s Poblete To Replace Disspain on ICANN Board

ICANN’s ccNSO Council has nominated Patricio Poblete as an ICANN Director to replace Chris Disspain to take Board Seat 11. Disspain will complete his maximum possible 9-year term (3 three-year terms is the maximum for each director) at ICANN69 scheduled for Hamburg in October. There were 3 candidates for the seat, the other 2 being Calvin Browne and Nigel William Phair.

Poblete, who will commence his term at the end of ICANN69, is a Director of NIC Chile and founding member of LACTLD. According to ICANNwiki, Poblete “holds a Math. Eng. degree from the University of Chile, and a M.Math. and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Waterloo in Canada. In 1975 he was one of the founders of the University of Chile’s Department of Computer Science, the first of its kind in Chile. He has been a professor at that department since then, and has produced a number of publications, most of them on the fields of Analysis of Algorithms, Data Structures, Internet Policy and Engineering Education. From 2000 to 2014 he was Director of the School of Engineering and Science of the University of Chile.”

“Poblete’s involvement with the Internet began in 1984, when he and his colleagues at the Department of Computer Science established the a UUCP network linking several universities in Chile. This network was linked a couple of years later to the global internet, and as a consequence in 1987 the department assumed responsibility for operating the domain name registry for .CL, which later became NIC Chile. NIC Chile is one of the largest registries in Latin America, and is known, among other things, for having introduced a dispute resolution system based on arbitration in 1997 (two years before the UDRP). It was the first Spanish speaking registry to introduce its IDN.”

“He has been involved in ICANN affairs since before it existed, having attended an IFWP meeting and the DNSO formation meeting, and he was on the organizing committee for ICANN Santiago, held in August of 1999. In 1999, he was elected as one of 3 members from the ccTLD community to the DNSO Council. He was a member of the ccNSO Council, representing the Latin American and Caribbean region; until March 2012. For several years, he was vice-Chair of the ccNSO. In 2017 he won the ICANN Multistakeholder Ethos Award.”